So last night
lallybroch threw a stamping party for
clementine21,
everlastingwhy, Beth and I. It was pretty fun and I'm a big sucker for crafts, but I managed to refrain from spending a ton of money I just don't have. The Ru-mate and I did buy one thing, though. A set of seven decorator stamps of toile-style flowers which we are going to use to finish our living room and dining room walls. I think it'll look quite nice.
**
The cable guy came yesterday and installed magic cable for us. It's so excellent. The first thing I did when he left was set the DVR to record CSI:Miami, CSI, and WaT every week. Almost more exciting than that is the fact that he replaced some connectors in the apartment and now my CBS reception is perfect. It's been ghosting images forever and that makes it pretty hard to watch most anything, but now...
**
Hopefully the gods of lazy employees will be with me today so that I can finish the WaT story like I've been trying to for days. Then I'll just have a wee bit of P/O to finish up before I can devote myself to the AU.
**
The stamp demonstrator last night was a very nice woman, Anne. Anne is not involved in fandom at all. Not even peripherally (hi Beth!) and her expression as we were discussing the latest kerfuffle in HP fandom was priceless, but it also just brought home how very strange fandom is. It's not something I think about very often because I'm often right in the middle of it, but on the rare occasions I step outside of myself, it always strikes me what a odd world I've chosen to involve myself in.
Especially slashdom. While I don't personally approve of the 'make everyone gay' school of slashing, I can admit that to an outsider, it probably all looks the same. It's very weird.
**
I'm so very tired. I'm having trouble keeping my eyes open.
**
The Ru-mate and I have now watched all of Season 1 and about 1/4 of Season 2 of Sports Night. I have always been, and will probably always be, a Danny/Casey shipper, but up to this point, it's pretty obvious that Danny's love, though true, is unrequited. Oh, Casey loves him, but he doesn't love him. You know? I've never watched all the episodes in order, so maybe that changes as the final season progresses, but at this point, it's all very sad for Danny. And, in truth, he deserves someone much nicer than Casey, who is only a big clueless doof 99% of the time.
The combination of watching CSI:Miami and Sports Night on Monday somehow stuck the Speed/Dan pairing in my head.
alethialia thought it would be bad because, you know, nothing in common, but I think they have more in common than first meets the eye. The real problem, though, is that, even if he doesn't return Danny's feelings, Casey and Danny pretty much are soulmates and that really throws a monkey wrench into all other romantic relationships eventually.
I am thinking, though, about Speed's boyfriend in the AU. I'm plotting and planning, my friends. Muahahaha.
**
The cable guy came yesterday and installed magic cable for us. It's so excellent. The first thing I did when he left was set the DVR to record CSI:Miami, CSI, and WaT every week. Almost more exciting than that is the fact that he replaced some connectors in the apartment and now my CBS reception is perfect. It's been ghosting images forever and that makes it pretty hard to watch most anything, but now...
**
Hopefully the gods of lazy employees will be with me today so that I can finish the WaT story like I've been trying to for days. Then I'll just have a wee bit of P/O to finish up before I can devote myself to the AU.
**
The stamp demonstrator last night was a very nice woman, Anne. Anne is not involved in fandom at all. Not even peripherally (hi Beth!) and her expression as we were discussing the latest kerfuffle in HP fandom was priceless, but it also just brought home how very strange fandom is. It's not something I think about very often because I'm often right in the middle of it, but on the rare occasions I step outside of myself, it always strikes me what a odd world I've chosen to involve myself in.
Especially slashdom. While I don't personally approve of the 'make everyone gay' school of slashing, I can admit that to an outsider, it probably all looks the same. It's very weird.
**
I'm so very tired. I'm having trouble keeping my eyes open.
**
The Ru-mate and I have now watched all of Season 1 and about 1/4 of Season 2 of Sports Night. I have always been, and will probably always be, a Danny/Casey shipper, but up to this point, it's pretty obvious that Danny's love, though true, is unrequited. Oh, Casey loves him, but he doesn't love him. You know? I've never watched all the episodes in order, so maybe that changes as the final season progresses, but at this point, it's all very sad for Danny. And, in truth, he deserves someone much nicer than Casey, who is only a big clueless doof 99% of the time.
The combination of watching CSI:Miami and Sports Night on Monday somehow stuck the Speed/Dan pairing in my head.
I am thinking, though, about Speed's boyfriend in the AU. I'm plotting and planning, my friends. Muahahaha.

Comments
It's strange, because when you speak to someone involved in fandom, they understand. But when you speak to someone outside it, they give you this look. I don't like to read too much into the look, because it's not often flattering. The look gets worse when you try to explain slashdom. And you're right, it doesn't even occur to you until you see it from someone elses perspective.
I speak from experience.
Oh, my.
Gleeful? *dies*
I need someone... anyone.. in RL who'll do that.
Poor woman obviously missed that memo.
....Like what pairings does he chose? (oi.)
And it sounds like he is. Oh, well........
No biggee! (I have things I always mistype. Is so frustrating!)
*blinks again*
Um, I don't even know how to respond to that. I think I might pay to see that. Damn.
My mom is only confused by fandom. She just doesn't understand why anyone would spend so much time on it.
God, it would be interesting to write though...
Imagine the angst!
the craziest woman everDana.So what if, instead of instituting the super-crazy 6-month dating rule, Dana just dates Casey in the beginning of season 2? After what happened with Casey's ex-wife, Danny is aware that Casey is more than willing to sabotage his romantic relationships in order to maintain his relationship with Danny. If he thought Casey was going to do that again, I can see him trying to remove himself from the equation. The station is in trouble at that point and Danny's in the middle of a pretty serious bout with depression, so I can see him just deciding to get the hell out and move as far away as he can...
Hmmm....
though, much as I love Natalie, she's the ONYL one crazy enough to keep up with Dana.Ahhh! Poor Danny! (dear lords, I will have to read this. Gah. My OPT bleeds. Bleed, OTP, bleed. ^.^)Did I mention I adore Danny?
(and I haven't seen them in order yet.. we watched the first dvds last.... but.. !!)
...Clearly, this boy needs some love. Bring on your pairing, and I'll try to watch up on CSI: Miami. ^.^ (I have trouble with that one because I can't stand the guy in charge there. *shudders* But..)
I can't seem to make my brain work out what 'WaT' would be. Help, pretty please? *pathetic look*
Also, fandom IS fucking funny. And freaky to explain. I hate seeing outsiders look at it..especially when they aren't amused but outside of it. *sweatdrop*
I also avoided watching CSI:Miami because of Caruso (I think he looks like a demented muppet), but Speed and Calleigh make up for it.
Gah.
*laughs* I love it! Is he the one I hate? (I've gotten so bad at names lately..)
The other characters are pretty great. And I need to watch tv more. *mourns* But my roommates are always using it. Will try to get better about CSI & CSI: Miami.
Also, I have this to say about all your Danny/Casey analysis: Word.
...and gah. That's why I don't like the Casey-wants-Dan-but-Danny-doesn't-want'Casey stories. They don't feel right at all to me. *shakes head*
My Danny loves Casey, whether he admits it to himself or not, and my Casey is a clueless dick at best.
Emotionally, he's even younger than his own son. For real.
Must. Get. Series. *whimper*
Hey! I didn't say it would be bad. I just said I was doubtful, and then once you explained I said it'd been nice for Speed. Really, writers can convince me of anything.
Like I would ever want to keep you from writing this. ;)
See, I thought you were talking about starting another AU.
Now I just have to work on Speed.
Or, maybe I should just think about another AU...
I don't know. Every writer has different styles, but if it were me, I'd separate them out. The burden of getting all those guys in one place at one time and being able to tell their stories meaningfully is...a lot to do. Not that I'm saying it can't be done. I'm just saying it's going to be incredibly complex.
So good luck!!