Previous Entry | Next Entry

my life is boring

  • Jun. 9th, 2003 at 10:03 AM
carleton97: (Default)
As is apparent by my complete lack of updating in the past few days. Seriously, though, not one damn thing happened last week that called for a journal entry.

Wow, that's really pitiful, huh?

Anyway, things are looking up. Kind of. I still don't have an actual job, but my temp thing has been extended through this week at least. I've got resumes in at several places, including the US District Court which would pay amazingly well when my experience is taken into consideration. So we'll see about that.

I think I'm going to go to a movie with my dad next weekend which is nice because I haven't seen him in a few weeks, but not nice because he was making noises about wanting to see Bruce Almighty so I'm going to have to redirect his attention, I think.

What else, what else... This past weekend was the birthday of the sister of the artist formerly known as Ru ([livejournal.com profile] everlastingwhy), so all of the sisters (minus Nora who lives in Vegas) converged on our apartment for the weekend and we went to the Dixie Chicks concert on Saturday night. I'm not a huge country fan - in fact, the Dixie Chicks are about the only country group I can stomach - but this is the third time I've seen them in concert and they really are great. Ru has never been a fan and was going because she loves her sister and also to show her support for them after The Incident a couple of months back. I'm happy to say, though, that the Dixie Chicks totally won her over. Not their music, though she did enjoy the fiddling quite a bit, no it was the highly entertaining and informative between set music that did it for her. Were we reading too much into it? I don't think so:

(I can't remember all the songs or the exact order, but I remember enough to get my point across)
Peace, Love & Understanding - Elvis Costello
Everybody Wants to Rule the World - Tears for Fears
Our Lips are Sealed - The Go-Go's
Band on the Run - Wings
End of the World (As We Know It) - REM
Born in the USA - Bruce Springsteen

It was a good thing.

[livejournal.com profile] carolinecrane has written another story in her Greg/Nick CSI series Sugar Rush. Strip Sega. Heh. I really wish more people would see the light of Greg/Nick instead of all the freakers who write Gil/anyone. Ew. Because it's sad that 90% of the fic around the pairing is that horrible, bad, OOC POS rapefic by CrazyFundamentalistGirl. As I like to call her.

Caroline has also started the official BWoC fanlisting. Go here for more details. I'll be registering as soon as I get home.

You know what I've been enjoying way more than I probably should? Scribe's Commercial slash series. It started with Sprint Guy/Verizon Guy slash and went from there. Sick and wrong? Probably but, for Scribe, the stories are well-written and they entertained me. Hmph. I was going to link to her website, but the link is down for the Commercial slash.

God, I'm such a slashwhore. I'll read any damn thing. Commercial slash seems tame. I mean, I've read [livejournal.com profile] tinnean's Classic Horror Movie slash. I've pillaged (in some cases multiple pairings) over a dozen and a half fandoms.

I read Harry/Draco, people.

It might be a cry for help...

Naw.

Comments

[identity profile] carolinecrane.livejournal.com wrote:
Jun. 9th, 2003 09:56 am (UTC)
No, I like those commercial slash fics too. I thought the Bailey's ones were a riot, but mostly because the guys on that commercial are both so obviously into each other.

Memo to the Bailey's Corporation:

Don't hire Calvin Klein models to play straight guys. Nobody's buying it.

Much love, The World

Of course I am the same girl who will whore myself out to any rareslash fandom that nobody else wants with no shame whatsoever. And then expect other people to read it. I'm also running a fanlisting, because I'm actually 12. I really need to go back to work or take a class or something. I need a life.

Someday I am going to read that OOC Rapefic. I've never gotten past the first paragraph, but someday I am going to read it just because I want to know what it is that I trash so vocally every chance I get. I'm scared that it will render me unable to write Nick/Greg for a good long while, though, and I don't want to do that to them.
[identity profile] carleton97.livejournal.com wrote:
Jun. 9th, 2003 11:12 am (UTC)
No, for real, that POS really taints the Greg/Nick love but if you are going to be trashing it, you should probably read it. In fact, I wish you would because there's one part that KILLS me with its total stupidity and I need to rant to someone about it.

Well, all of it kills me, but you know what I mean.
[identity profile] carolinecrane.livejournal.com wrote:
Jun. 9th, 2003 11:34 am (UTC)
Well so far I've only trashed the disclaimer (which I have read) and the concept of rapefic in slash fandom in general, so I think I'm safe. And she *is* a crazy fundamentalist homophobic girl, there's no denying that.

Still, someday I will read the tripe so that you can rant about it. Or, you know, if you want to rant about it before I read it that's cool too. I'm not sure when I'm going to be able to work up the patience to wade through the sheer amount of fic she's written. That fic is hella long, isn't it?
[identity profile] everlastingwhy.livejournal.com wrote:
Jun. 9th, 2003 01:56 pm (UTC)
Classic horror slash? Oh, baby, say it ain't so. Bela/Boris? That's not only creepy, they wouldn't have touched each other with a ten foot pole. HEH.
[identity profile] carleton97.livejournal.com wrote:
Jun. 9th, 2003 06:04 pm (UTC)
Dude, it's not like it's RPS.
[identity profile] lallybroch.livejournal.com wrote:
Jun. 9th, 2003 04:40 pm (UTC)
Commerical slash? VERIZON GUY SLASH?

It's official. You no longer have a leg to stand on against Justin's RPS.
[identity profile] carleton97.livejournal.com wrote:
Jun. 9th, 2003 06:04 pm (UTC)
Come on, don't be like that!
[identity profile] lallybroch.livejournal.com wrote:
Jun. 9th, 2003 06:29 pm (UTC)
Oh, I GOTTA be like that.

Don't worry-Soapy!Ron will save the day!

PS. Check your email!
[identity profile] carleton97.livejournal.com wrote:
Jun. 10th, 2003 06:13 am (UTC)
Dude, I can't believe you outed me like that on DE. That was harsh, totally harsh.

But I still think you should do it. Heh.

Profile

carleton97: (Default)
[personal profile] carleton97
carleton97

Latest Month

August 2012
S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios
Designed by [personal profile] chasethestars